Your new design will be uploaded in:
Please contact Delivery Team on
0113 3200 750 if you have any queries.

St. Thomas C.E. Primary School

A Family of Fellowship and Forgiveness.
‘Love one another as I have loved you’ (John 13:34)

Astley Street, Leigh WN7 2AS

01942 672730




At one time Leigh was the name given to the shops and houses around the church although the district actually consisted of three townships :-

* Bedford * Pennington * Westleigh

In 1875 the three old townships were amalgamated. In 1894 a small part of the township of Atherton was also added and the area became the Urban District of Leigh. In August 1899 it was granted a Charter and became the Borough of Leigh. In the local government reorganization of 1974, Leigh became part of the Wigan Metropolitan Borough.

In Leigh Town Hall there are stained glass windows, on the main staircase, which serve as a reminder of some of the landed families who lived in the area.

Leigh Coat of Arms
(click on the link above to follow the story)